World heritage sites

Key points

  • World heritage sites are selected by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) to identify, protect and preserve cultural and natural heritage around the world.
  • Some sites around the world include the Great Wall of China, the city of Dubrovnik in Croatia, the Acropolis in Greece, Taj Mahal in India, Stonehenge in the United Kingdom to name a few.
  • There are 18 world heritage sites officially listed from Australia.
  • In NSW, some of those sites include the Sydney Opera House, the Greater Blue Mountains and the Willandra Lakes Region.
  • School A to Z features links to third-party websites and resources. We are not responsible for the content of external sites.

Aerial view of the Great Barrier Reef

Australia's world heritage sites

The World Heritage Committee has selected more than 900 sites around the world for their oustanding universal value.

Australia has 18 world heritage sites officially listed. These sites include the Great Barrier Reef, Kakadu National Park and Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park.

Sites listed in NSW include: 

Focus on the Great Barrier Reef


More information


This site uses Google Translate, a free language translation service, as an aid. Please note translation accuracy will vary across languages.

Doing it by the book

As a parent it's only natural to want to help your child, but when it comes to homework and study, the completed work should be theirs.

Here are some important points to remember to ensure your child is following good practice for a lifetime of learning.